Crouse Health Hosts Crouse Choice Awards on March 13


Each day, Crouse Health employees strive to carry out our mission of providing the best in patient care, as well to honor our vision and values. In doing so, many patients and family members choose to send along words of appreciation and recognition.

Based on nominations from employees, physicians, volunteers and departments, these employees were selected by our Simply the Best Oversight team to be honored in 12 categories during the Crouse Choice Awards this past Monday, March 13, at Syracuse Stage. And speaking of appreciation, we extend special thanks to the Paul Kronenberg, MD, Employee Recognition Fund of the Crouse Health Foundation for funding the event.

Mickey Lebowitz, MD, and David Wolfe emceed the evening. Additional entertainment was provided by Smoke Wind; Butler Sheehan School of Irish Dance; Bob Beattie; and Sally Dulcich-Bloom and Con’Taisha Pringle.

The finalists and winners (in teal bold) were:

Customer Service – Clinical

Thomas Tarbox, Educational Services and Michele Bode, MD

Karen Engel-Kissane, Care Coordination Services

Sandra Stojkovski, Radiology

Lasting Impression

Roneisha Williams and Taylor Mizro, Respiratory Therapy

Patricia Nolan, RN – Madison Irving Surgery Center

Stephanna Stephens, Patient Ambulatory Helper

Best Example of Living the MVV

Jacqueline King, RN – NICU

John Bergemann, Human Resources

Jeffery Youngs, Health Information Management

Innovation & Creativity

Michael Duffy, MD; Rachel Elder, MD; James Mostrom, MD; Kathy Steinmann, DNP; Jill Hauswirth, BSN; Kathryn Marsella, RN; Sara Meneilly, BSN; Sue Leroy, Manager, Vascular Access/Phlebotomy; Ellen Crehan, NP; Jenny Sohl, NP; Sharon Valenti, NP; Joseph Perkowski, CRNA; Sharon Hunter, RD, CDN, CDE; Cara Pinoargotte, BSN, RN, CCRN; Nicole Cook, MSN, RN, CNOR

Sandy Rivers, Lisa Ardner and Kelly Esposito, Chemical Dependency Treatment Services

Barbara Drapola, Director, Clinical Integrations; Rachel Carey, Sr. Quality Improvement Analyst; Karen Mauro, Care Coordination/Social Work; Karen Dabrowski, Case Management

Best Example of Promoting Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Janelle Harris, DSRIP Patient Engagement Specialist

Veronica Clanton, Patient Access Representative

Laurie Leonard, Chemical Dependency Treatment Services

Most Adaptable to Difficult Situations

Kathryn Lumpkin, Medical Imaging

Gina Hayes, MD

Dennis Sanabria, Patient Access

Customer Service – Non-clinical

Raphael Vaverchak, Programmer Analyst Application

Dina Squadrito, Health Information Management

Cindy Crooks, Crouse Medical Practice

Crouse Hero

Linda Churchill and Tabiatha Esperon, Health Unit Coordinators

Shelby Brown, Physical Therapy

Kathleen Ingianni, Speech Therapy

Most Compassionate

Melinda McMinn, MD – Palliative Care

Carl Butch, MD – Crouse Medical Practice

Debra Doupe, Medical Affairs Coordinator

Good Catch

Melisa Ciciarelli, RN – PromptCare

Susan Dingman, RN

Pomeroy Emergency Services Department; Lawrence Semel, MD;
KD Nunes, RN; Debra Gustke, RN; Annie Roberts, BSN, RN; Justin White, RN; Rita Sherifi, RN; Brendan Hind, EMT, Emergency Care Technician; Justin Rowland, Emergency Care Technician; Oscar Pinoargotte, BSN, RN, CCRN – SWAT; Lois Smith, RT(R)(CT)(ARRT) – Certified CT Technologist

Community Service

Linda Kurtz, Health Unit Coordinator – NICU

Evelyn Mitchell and Laurie Leonard – Chemical Dependency Treatment Services

Jessica Liepke, Spirit of Women; Lois Sexton, BSN, RN, CCE – Educational Coordinator; Faith Terry, RNC, LCCE, FACCE – Instructor Community & Family Education

Commitment to Quality

Kathie Bruno, RN

Martiel Stoecker, DNP, RN, CNM

Aimee Monica, RHIT

Dr. Paul Kronenberg Special Awards

Elizabeth O’Connor
Belinda Blanck
Suhair Jones
William Shanley