Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital Holds 102nd Annual Commencement Ceremony

Pomeroy College of Nursing Class of 2017

The Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital recognized graduates during its 102nd annual commencement ceremony on Thursday, May 25, in Hendricks Chapel on the Syracuse University campus.

Keynote Speaker was Matt Hickling, RN, BSN, a nurse at The Melodies Center for Childhood Cancer and Blood Disorders at Albany Medical Center since 2011, who was named the 2016 Nurse of the Year by the Albany Times Union. Matt garnered national attention in July 2015 when his four-year-old patient, Abby Sayles, asked him to be her “husband.” A video of the “wedding ceremony” went viral, touching the hearts of children and adults alike.

Greetings were delivered to the graduates by Crouse Hospital President and Chief Executive Officer Kimberly Boynton and Chief Nursing and Clinical Services Officer Betty O’Connor. Graduate Leah Rizzo spke on behalf of the graduating class.

The day began with a Convocation breakfast and ceremony. Claire Meyers spoke on behalf of the graduating class, and closing remarks were delivered by Associate Professor Susan Dietz.

The DAISY Faculty Award was presented to Rosemary Marshall, and the Exemplary Staff Award was given to Christopher Souza from 4 North Irving.

May 2017 Graduates

Tracy Anderson, Marcellus, NY
Zoe Bailey, Manlius, NY
Danielle Bishop, LaFayette, NY
Margret Brower, Cicero, NY
Leslie Burdick, Oswego, NY Cum Laude
Joclyn Butler, Liverpool, NY
Katie Cartner, Auburn, NY
Michelle Conde, Bronx, NY
Stephanie Dexter, Tully, NY
Amanda Gifford, Manlius, NY
Hannah Gower, Syracuse, NY
Kira Gridley N. Syracuse, NY Summa Cum Laude
Marie Huaqui, Solvay, NY
Christian Janowski, Syracuse, NY
Sarah Johnson, Baldwinsville, NY
Jordan Laux, Manlius, NY Cum Laude
Kaitlyn Linerode, Mexico, NY
Katherine Martel-Rodriguez, Minoa, NY Magna Cum Laude
Claire Meyers, Manlius, NY Magna Cum Laude
Madeline Moore, Ballston Spa, NY Cum Laude
Lauren Morrison, Liverpool, NY
Kristen Moth, Baldwinsville, NY
Morgan Murling, Rome, NY
Cynthia Parr, Auburn, NY
Amanda Piedmonte, Syracuse, NY
Angela Pugliese, Marcellus, NY
Leah Rizzo, Syracuse, NY Cum Laude
Mallory Shaffer, Minoa, NY
Taylor Sinicropi, Auburn, NY
Tiffany Smart, Solvay, NY
Natasha Sohtra, Clay, NY
Ilona Stelmakh, Syracuse, NY
Jaylin Vernon, Syracuse, NY Cum Laude
Reegan Welsh, Fabius, NY
Holly Willson, Rome, NY

The following graduates are members of the Alpha Delta Mu Honor Society:
Margret Brower
Stephanie Dexter
Christian Janowski
Jordan Laux
Katherine Martel-Rodriguez
Claire Meyers
Madeline Moore
Kristen Moth
Cynthia Parr
Amanda Piedmonte
Leah Rizzo
Ilona Stelmakh
Jaylin Vernon

Graduation Awards

Award of Excellence presented to the student(s) who demonstrates excellence in academics and who has made significant contributions to the school and the nursing profession.
• Kira Gridley

Clinical Excellence Awards for excellence in clinical practice.
• Ashleigh Bossi (completed program December 2016)
• Jordan Laux

Student Leadership Award is given to a student who exhibits leadership qualities in student activities as well as in their clinical practice.
• Margret Brower

Crouse Hospital Nurses Alumni Award for an outstanding student continuing on with nursing education.
• Claire Meyers

Ann Wiles Life Long Learner Award for graduate who exibits the same qualities and spirit for life long learning as retired Crouse Hospital College of Nursing Faculty member Ann Wiles.
• Katherine Martel-Rodriguez

Spirit of Nursing Award for a graduate in the final semester of nursing school who stands out among her peers for both her academics and personal conduct. It also recognizes the student’s ability to balance the demands of family and school.
• Jaylin Vernon

Central New York Nurse’s Association Outstanding Nursing Student Award
This award recognizes students who exemplify passion, leadership skills and commitment to service.
• Kira Gridley

Congratulations to all our graduates!