Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital Holds 101st Annual Commencement Ceremony

The Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital recognized graduates during its 101st annual commencement ceremony on Thursday, May 26 in Hendricks Chapel on the Syracuse University campus.

Keynote Speaker was Ann Sedore, PhD, RN. Greetings were delivered to the graduates by Crouse Hospital President and Chief Executive Officer Kimberly Boynton and Chief Nursing and Clinical Services Officer Betty O’Connor.

Each year, the college presents graduation awards to students who have exhibited academic and leadership excellence. This year’s winners were:

Katie Swanson of Canastota
Emily Bearer of Liverpool
Award of Excellence, presented to students who demonstrate excellence in academics and who have made significant contributions to the school and the nursing profession

MaryKay Cloonan of Oswego
Nickolas Sanchez of Weedsport
Clinical Excellence Award for excellence in clinical practice

Cassandra Morley of Oswego
Student Leadership Award, given to a student who exhibits leadership qualities in student activities as well as in their clinical practice

Abigail Morales of Syracuse
Crouse Hospital Nurses Alumni Award, given to an outstanding student continuing on with nursing education

Karl Schindler of Syracuse
Ann Wiles Life Long Learner Award, for a graduate who exhibits the same qualities and spirit for lifelong learning as retired Crouse Hospital School of Nursing Faculty member Ann Wiles

Megan Odell of Solvay
Spirit of Nursing Award, for a graduate in her final semester of nursing school who stands out among her peers for both her academics and personal conduct. It also recognizes the student’s ability to balance the demands of family and school.

Kelsey Evans of Red Creek
Pomeroy College of Nursing Continuing Education Scholarship, for a graduate who will be continuing her/his education and was selected based on characteristics demonstrated and valued by Ann Sedore, former Director of the College of Nursing and the 2016 dignitary speaker. These characteristics include the spirit of giving back through volunteerism, the continued pursuit of knowledge, the quest for excellence, and a loyalty to Crouse Hospital.

Also honored that day were Joann Catanzarita, who received the first-ever DAISY Faculty Award, and Vinette Fisher, from the hospital’s 6 South Irving unit, who was presented with the Exemplary Staff Nurse Award.

May 2016 Graduates
Ahlam Ashkar, Cicero
Oluwaseun Awokoya, Syracuse
Elizabeth Bailey, Auburn
Bahiya Battle, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Emily Bearer, Liverpool – Summa Cum Laude
Caroline Bernhardt, Liverpool – Magna Cum Laude
Erik Braun, Skaneateles Falls
Kristina Brisson, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Stephanie Buker, Watertown – Cum Laude
Kelly Burke, Baldwinsville
Kayli Calkins, Cicero
Cheyenne Case, Liverpool
Mandy Cayea, Liverpool
Morgan Christensen, Baldwinsville
Heather Coleman, Rochester
Courtney Coningsby, Moravia
Samantha Corbett, Canton
Kimberly Crossman, Minoa – Cum Laude
Aundraea Desidoro, Oswego
Courtneybelle DesRoberts, Camillus
Ryan Eastman, Warners – Magna Cum Laude
Rebecca Eberl, Liverpool
Michaela Ennis, Baldwinsville
Katherine Erickson, Syracuse
Kelsey Evans, Red Creek – Magna Cum Laude
Brittany Ford, North Syracuse
Mikayla Frego, Norwood – Magna Cum Laude
Elizabeth Gang, Syracuse
Olga Giarrusso, Baldwinsville
Erica Hazard, Kirkville
Erin Howard, Syracuse
Nicholas Janosik, Liverpool
Molly Johnson , Manlius
Philip Khairi, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Joshua Kotas, Camillus
Lyudmila Kuts, Baldwinsville
Brittany Lacik, Liverpool
Kelly Lindsley , Oswego
Jason Lyons, Camillus
Nicole Martin, Mexico
Paul Martin, Liverpool
Tori Martin, Syracuse
Michayla Matuszak, Auburn
Stephanie McGillis, Camillus
Madelyn McKnight, Manlius
Tatyana Melnichuk, Camillus
Cassandra Morley, Oswego
Morgan Mulkerin, Oswego – Cum Laude
Allison Murray, Cortland
Margaret Narolis, Williamstown
Anne Navaroli, Skaneateles
Kate Nelson, Oswego
Shannon Noce, Camillus
Megan Odell, Solvay – Magna Cum Laude
Rachel Orellana, Liverpool
Kara Pafumi, Fulton
Kristen Paoletti, North Syracuse
Alexandria Pascarella, Cicero
Gabriele Pierson, Fayetteville
Ashley Pollard , Syracuse
Nadine Prince, Jamesville
Darlece Radlowski, Liverpool
Jessica Ray, Hannibal
Jessica Reichel, Cicero
Desiree Reyes, Deferiet
Nickolas Sanchez, Weedsport
Erin Scannell, Mattydale
Nicole Scheel, Clay
Cailey Schiavone, Lafayette
Tiffany Shaughnessy, Chittenango – Cum Laude
Meghan Shea, Camillus
Mikaylea Sonnacchio, West Monroe
Jayde Sotherden, Syracuse
Susannah Steele, Oswego
Sarah Trust, Skaneateles
Marsha Wangke, Camillus
Erica White, Syracuse
Tiffani Wood, Liverpool
Katelyn York, Camillus
Benjamin Zachariah, Camillus
Rebekah Zarnowski, Fulton

August 2015 Graduates
Chelsie Blowers, Auburn
Eleanor Greenfield, Skaneateles
Katey Gromling, Baldwinsville
Crystal Kocher, Fulton
Meva Osmanovic, E. Syracuse
Marisa Smith, Baldwinsville
Valerie Tweten, Syracuse
David Wells, Syracuse

December 2015 Graduates
Kehinde Adelekan, Glen Burnie, MD
Taiwo Adelekan, Glen Burnie, MD
Lindsay Baker, Syracuse
Katherine Baldwin, Cicero
Samantha Beckwith, Weedsport
Maurice Bouvia, Phoenix
Kimberley Bratt, Tully – Cum Laude
Meghan Braun , Skaneateles Falls
Amanda Brown, Earlville
Genairse Camby, Syracuse
Heather Carroll, LaFayette
Amy Chase, Clay
Melynda Chase, Canastota
MaryKay Cloonan, Oswego
Kristen Coppola, Auburn
Danielle Cowell, Auburn
Heidi Cronin, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Daniel Delaney, Auburn
Rebecca Demling, Oswego
Jill Donofrio, Elbridge
Zachary Dyer, Syracuse
Victoria Fitzgerald, Auburn
Ashley Ford, Clay
Brittany Gardynski, Syracuse – Cum Laude
Katelyn Gelormino, Syracuse
Emily Heinz, Manlius – Magna Cum Laude
Bethany Hemmes, Syracuse – Cum Laude
Michelle Holmes, Dickinson Center
Ebonie Howard, Stoneham, MA
Laura Jackson, Auburn
Courtney Jarrard, Baldwinsville – Summa Cum Laude
Jane Johnson, Syracuse
Cara Johnson, Syracuse
Katrina Kirkendall, Baldwinsville
Aislinn Lacorazza, N. Syracuse
Nicole Lenway, Liverpool
Stephanie Leone, Weedsport
Katie McCarthy, Baldwinsville
Kristina Meyer, Fayetteville – Cum Laude
Abigail Morales, Syracuse
Elizabeth Muniak, Syracuse – Cum Laude
Kelsey Nolan, Auburn
Katie O’Connell, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Gabriel Palen, Marcellus – Cum Laude
Shueston Reed , Savannah
Ellen Sands, Manlius
Karl Schindler, Syracuse
Ashley Smith, Liverpool – Cum Laude
Katherine Soffietti, Dewitt – Cum Laude
Katie Swanson, Canastota – Summa Cum Laude
Crystal Thompson, Mexico
Nicholas Viggiano, Syracuse
Jenna Wegerski, Syracuse
Joseph Williams, Lafargeville
Loren Williams, Saratoga Springs – Magna Cum Laude

Congratulations to all our graduates!